Basingstoke Sports Council

Serving Basingstoke's sporting community for over 25 years.

Service to Sport

 Service to Sport

Recognise those who serve local sport -

Do you have people within your league, club or sports organisation who work exceptionally hard to ensure the club and sport is successful each year? The service to sport award goes someway to recognise the achievements of those people involved in local sports clubs on a longstanding basis. These are people who have made an outstanding contribution to local sport, made significant impact to a club, local community, organisation or school and perhaps shown commitment to personal development and supporting the development of others. The various people behind the scenes at any league or sports club are those who make the sport run smoothly and are often forgotten.

Dave Watton

Three excellent nominations are now in for this years award previously won by Dave Watton (Above) in 2015 representing the local Hockey community. Many others in the Basingstoke sporting community are of course worthy of recognistion by their clubs.

Carol Chandler (Ice Hockey)

Carol has been involved with Junior Ice Hockey for 27 years. She provides support for coaches, and has seen numerous players through the club, some of whom are now playing senior hockey with the Bison. Her continued dedication and commitment provides the way for the next generation of young ice hockey players and coaches. Carol gives up much of her time, voluntarily, to ensure the club is run in a professional and proactive manner. She continues to attend training twice a week and has the thankless job of being club treasurer where she has to chase members each month for their subs.

Daisy Coleman (Powerboat Racing)

After winning the 2016 National Championship in their debut season Daisy and her brother qualified for the inaugural P1 India World Championship in Mumbai. Televised live globally on ESPN for the first time in powerboat racing history they raced against some of the world’s best powerboats. They went on to qualify with the quickest lap time across the field and then won every round to be crowned 2017 World Champions. On returning to the UK they successfully defended their national title and remain K P1 National Champions.

Liz Flitcroft (Athletics)

Liz has been with BMHAC for 20 years and has gone from being a parent helper to gaining her coaching qualifications and then having a lead role in coaching the under 11’s. She coaches twice a week and also plays a big role in organising track meetings and has committee posts in 2 of the leading cross country leagues. Liz has the highest qualification, level 4, and has judged at many events, including disability. She is also Team Manager at cross country events, as time allows, and is a great mentor to new officials.

Previous winners of the Service to Sport Award ....

2017 -

2016 - Miranda Smith (Hockey)

2015 - David Watton (Hockey)

2014 - Len Dunce (Judo)

2013 - Brian Donegan (Gymnastics)

2012 - Paul Temple (Gymnastics)

2011 - John Evans (Rugby)

2010 - Diane Cooper (Badminton)

2009 - Doug Hitchcock (Cycling)

2008 - Steve Tristram (Rugby)

2007 - Cyril Thompson (Cricket)

2006 - Ian Byett (Athletics)

2005 - Chris Evans (Sports Trust)

2004 - Gerald Merritt (Senior Football)

2003 - Trevor Shanks (Badminton)

2002 - Colin Dew (Swimming)

2001 - Anna Fearnley (Netball)

2000 - Reg Eade (Athletics)

1999 - John Ward (Senior Football)

1998 - Joan Cole (Tennis)

1997 - Sue & MIke Lambert (Swimming)

1996 - Peter Raynbird (Senior Football)

1995 - Villiams Krauklis (Athletics)

1994 - Geoff Goddard (Athletics)


Previous winner in 2012 Paul Temple (Gymnastics) being presented with the trophy by Maria Miller MP


Paul Temple Web


You are here: Home Sports Awards Service to Sport